Association of Post Graduate APRN Programs

Meet the New APGAP Board Members! (Part 2)

Posted over 3 years ago by Camille Valente

We are so excited to introduce the new board members who will be joining APGAP for 2021-2022! 

Lisa Pierce: President-Elect
Gabriela Cervantes: Membership Chair-Elect
Sara Millwee: Social Media & Communications Chair-Elect
Bryan Boling: Education Committee Chair-Elect
Heather Meissen: Treasurer-ElectTreasurer-Elect

In a previous article, we introduced you to both Lisa and Gabriela. 

Today, we'll will introduce you to Sara, Bryan, and Heather. 

Meet Sara Millwee, DNP, APRN, FNP-BC, AGACNP-BC, CEN


Sara graduated from Syracuse University in 1999 with her BSN. She relocated to Atlanta from New Jersey and started working at Emory Crawford Long Hospital in the ER. She completed her MSN at Kennesaw State University with her FNP concentration. She worked as a Nurse Practitioner in the ER and in Hospital Medicine in Atlanta suburbs. In 2016, she finished her post-master’s ACAGNP certificate at the University of Pennsylvania. She attended Vanderbilt University and earned her DNP 2019, where she was part of the inaugural executive leadership cohort.

Sara is currently the Chief APP for the Hospital Medicine division for Emory Healthcare. She oversees 40 Physician Assistants and Nurse Practitioners, across 9 different facilities. She also serves as a preceptor and is adjunct faculty at the Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing at Emory University. Sara recognizes the importance and the need for having a post-graduate program and is hoping to start a Hospital Medicine APP Fellowship at Emory Healthcare. She has been an active member of APGAP and is looking forward to serving as the communication chair.

Meet Bryan Boling, DNP, ACNP


Bryan Boling is an Acute Care Nurse Practitioner with the Anesthesia Critical Care Medicine service at the University of Kentucky in Lexington. He received his Doctor of Nursing Practice degree from the University of Kentucky in 2016. In addition to his clinical practice, Bryan is the Assistant Program Director for UK's Critical Care Advanced Practice Provider Fellowship and an Adjunct Assistant Professor in the Acute Care Nurse Practitioner program at Georgetown University in Washington, DC. Active in the Society of Critical Care Medicine, American Association of Critical Care Nurses, and Neurocritical Care Society, he is also a frequent speaker at national and international conferences and has written or co-written numerous articles and books including "Concepts in Surgical Critical Care," "Fundamentals of Critical Care Support: Surgical," and the Society of Critical Care Medicine's Rapid Sequence Intubation Guidelines. Bryan is also the cohost of the educational podcast, "Critical Care Scenarios."

Meet Heather Meissen, MSN, ACNP-BC


Heather Meissen is an Acute Care Nurse Practitioner in the Surgical Intensive Care Unit at Emory University Hospital where she has practiced since 2005. She is the founding Program Co-Director for the Emory Critical Care Centers’ NPPA Residency Program which received the nation’s first accreditation as an APRN practice transition program from the American Nurses Credentialing Centers’ Commission on Accreditation (ANCC PTAP) and more recently has obtained Accreditation with Distinction. Heather was a founding executive board member and is currently serving as a past-president consultant of the Association of Post Graduate APRN Programs (APGAP). Heather was inducted as a fellow in the American College of Critical Care Medicine in 2016 and the American Association of Nurse Practitioners in 2017. Heather completed her Bachelor of Science at Birmingham Southern College in 2003, Master of Science in Nursing from Vanderbilt in 2005 and is currently completing her Doctor of Nursing Practice at Vanderbilt School of Nursing.